The All-Party Parliamentary Human Rights Group (PHRG) is led by a Committee of Officers responsible for overseeing the Group’s day-to day work. The current Officers are listed below.

The PHRG is also made up of many more Parliamentarians from across the political spectrum, who are interested and get involved in this area of foreign affairs. To see a list of our members please click here. Anyone wishing to contact the Group or any of its Members should get in touch with the Group’s Chair or Coordinator/Legal Adviser. See the ‘Contact Us’ section of this website for more information. Parliamentarians wishing to join their colleagues on the PHRG should also contact the Coordinator/Legal Adviser of the Group.


Ann ClwydRt Hon Ann Clwyd MP: Chair

Ann Clwyd (Lab) has been an MP since 1984, and prior to that was an MEP. She is a member of the UK Parliament’s Select Committee on Foreign Affairs and from 2003 – 2007 was Special Envoy to the Prime Minister on Human Rights in Iraq. She is Vice Chair (and a former Chair) of the British Group of the Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) and is Chair of the IPU Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians.


Dominic Grieve

Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP: Joint Vice-Chair

Dominic Grieve (Con) has been an MP since 1997. He served as Attorney General from 2010-2014 and has previously been Shadow Attorney General, Shadow Home Secretary and Shadow Justice Secretary. He has worked extensively on civil liberties and the Rule of Law throughout his time in Parliament.


26518.jpgBaroness Vivien Stern CBE: Secretary

Baroness Stern (Cross-Bench) has been a member of several Parliamentary Committees and is co-Chair of the Abolition of the Death Penalty APPG. Her political interests include criminal justice, penal reform, immigration, foreign affairs, international development and human rights. She had a varied and distinguished career before becoming a Peer in 1999, including having been Director of NACRO from 1977 to 1996 and Secretary-General of Penal Reform International from 1986 until 2006.

25278.jpgRt Hon Stephen Timms MP: Treasurer

Stephen Timms (Lab) is currently the Member of Parliament for East Ham. He is also the Labour Party’s Faith Envoy, and sits on the Exiting the European Union Select Committee. He entered Parliament in 1994 and held a number of ministerial posts under the previous Labour Government including Chief Secretary to the Treasury and Financial Secretary to the Treasury. In Opposition, he was Shadow Minister for Employment from 2010 to 2015.  Before entering Parliament, he worked in the telecommunications industry for fifteen years.

Jeremy Corbin

Jeremy Corbyn MP: Honorary Officer

Before becoming Leader of the Labour Party in September 2015, Jeremy Corbyn MP campaigned extensively from the backbenches on international human rights issues, including in his capacity as Joint Vice-Chair of the PHRG. In recognition of his long-standing contribution to the PHRG’s work and his commitment to challenging serious and systematic rights violations around the world, Jeremy has been made an Honorary PHRG Officer.


Lord Avebury

Lord Avebury: Former Vice-Chair

The PHRG was very sad to hear that Lord Avebury died on 14th February at the age of 87. Lord Avebury has been a long-standing and very committed human rights champion and continued to raise a wide range of human rights causes around the world until his death. He will be greatly missed by his Parliamentary colleagues, and many human rights organisations and defenders from around the world.